APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

List for Consideration

27th Oct 2015

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Betws	2	Mrs M. Loreen Lewis Pantybanwen, Maesquarre Rd, Betws SA18 2PD	Mrs Catrin James, Headteacher	'Mrs Lewis has been an active and conscientious governor at Ysgol Betws. We appreciate her experience and support to school life. Mrs Lewis' background in education and her contribution is valuable.' Mrs James is seeking Mrs Lewis' re-appointment.
Carreg Hirfaen	1	Cllr. J Eirwyn Williams Cilgell Uchaf, Parc-y-Rhos, Cwmann, Llanbedr Pont Steffan, Ceredigion SA48 8DY	N/a - Cllr. Eirwyn Williams is the elected member for a ward for which Ysgol Carreg Hirfaen is the catchment area school.	 'I am delighted to confirm my wish to continue as a member of the governing body of Ysgol Carreg Hirfaen.' CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
			Mr Aled Evans, Headteacher	'Cllr Williams has already served one term of office for Carreg Hirfaen Governing Body and was a great asset to the governors. He lives in the community and knows a great deal of parents, pupils and staff members. He is committed to ensure that Carreg Hirfaen gives the best education and to improve standards. His contribution in meetings is always highly thought of, using his expertise in a wide range of subjects.'
Dewi Sant	1	Miss Deryth Davies, 2 Stepney Road, Pwll, Llanelli	Mr Gethin Thomas, Headteacher	'Miss Deryth Davies is a former Assistant Headteacher at Ysgol Gyfun y Strade. Her wealth of experience within education will be of great assistance to us as

				Governing Body. Her activity in the community of the town of Llanelli also make her an excellent candidate to represent the voice of the people of the town. She is a strong supporter of the Welsh language and will be the right person to ensure a future for the first Welsh medium school in Wales.'
Ffairfach	2	Mr Jason Evans, Cefngornoeth House, Llangadog, Llandeilo SA19 9AN	Miss M. Morgan, Headteacher	'Mr Evans is a valuable member of the community. He has children at Ffairfach Primary School, has served as a parent governor and is extremely supportive of the school.'
Ffederasiwn Llechyfedach Tumble Federation	4	Mr David Owen Evans, Neuadd Wen, Heol Bethania, Upper Tumble	Mrs Neris Thomas- Samuel, Acting Headteacher	'Mr Evans showed an interest and enthusiasm at the time of the centenary; he is also a reading volunteer at the school. He lives in the catchment area of the school.'
		Mr Evan William James, 54 Rhosyderi, Tumble SA14 6LD	Mrs Neris Thomas- Samuel, Acting Headteacher	'Very supportive of activities in the village. Interested in the life and work of the school.'
		Mrs Angharad Price, 23a Llannon Rd, Upper Tumble SA14 6BW	Mrs Catrin Nicholas, Acting Headteacher	'Has been extremely supportive of Llechyfedach School over the years. Current chair of the Governing Body of Llechyfedach. While in this role, has led the GB through an ESTYN inspection. Lives in the catchment area.'
		Mrs Jane Williams, Gorwel, Heol Bethesda, Tumble	Mrs Neris Thomas- Samuel, Acting Headteacher	'Former member of the Governing Body of Tumble School. Active and effective. Lives in the catchment area and is a former parent at the school.'
Five Roads	1 (from 2 nd Jan 2016)	Cllr. Jim Jones Tir Gof, 9 Heol Hen, Five Roads, Llanelli SA15 5HJ	N/a - Cllr. Jim Jones is the elected member for the ward in which Five Roads School is	'I hereby notify you that I am prepared to serve on the Governing Body of Five Roads School for another term of 4 years. I look forward to hearing from you.' Cllr. Jim Jones

			situated.	CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Gorslas	1 (from 2 nd Jan 2016)	Cllr. Terry Davies MBE, 5 Heol Cross Hands Gorslas Llanelli SA14 6RR	N/a - Cllr. Terry Davies is one of the elected members for the ward in which Gorslas School is situated.	Cllr. Terry Davies has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Gorslas School. Cllr. Davies is the present Chair of Governors at Gorslas School.
			Cllr. Darren Price fully supports Cllr. Davies.	CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Griffith Jones	1	Cllr. Philip M Hughes, The Old Board School, High Street, St. Clears, SA33 4DY	N/a - Cllr. Philip Hughes is the elected member for St. Clears ward.	 Cllr. Philip Hughes has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Ysgol Griffith Jones. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Hendy	1 (from 2 nd Jan 2016)	Cllr. Gareth Thomas Goitre Fach, Hendy, Pontarddulais Swansea SA4 0YA	N/a - Cllr. Gareth Thomas is the elected member for Hendy ward.	 Cllr. Gareth Thomas has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Hendy School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their

				decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Trimsaran	1	Cllr. Meryl Gravell, Hen-Blas, 31 Heol Waun-y- Clun, Trimsaran, Kidwelly SA17 4BL	N/a - Cllr. Meryl Gravell is the elected member for Trimsaran ward.	 Cllr. Meryl Gravell has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Trimsaran School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
SECONDARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Dyffryn Taf	2	Cllr. Philip M Hughes, The Old Board School, High Street, St. Clears, SA33 4DY	Mr Howel I Bowen, Chair of Governors	[Cllr. Hughes has] 'A knowledge of, and interest in, the community in which the school is situated; commitment to education.'
Emlyn	2	Mr. Matt Morden, Blaenantgoch, Hermon, Cynwyl Elfed, Carmarthen SA33 6SR	Mr Hugh Thomas, Headteacher	'Mr Morden is employed in the education department of Carmarthenshire Local Authority. He has responsibility for 14 – 19 learning pathways. His expertise in this field would be hugely beneficial to the governing body and the school.'
		Mrs. Helen Pulman-Slater, Glyncoed, Glogue, Pembs, SA36 0ED	Mrs Elaine Sharpling, Chair of Governors	'Mrs Pulman-Slater has had previous experience as a governor on the school's Governing Body where she served as Vice-Chair. She has 3 children who have attended the school, achieving excellent results. She is also a fluent Welsh speaker. Her teaching experience at Pembrokeshire College (and also at the University of Wales Trinity St David) is likely to lend valuable insight in the field of education, and this could prove very beneficial for our Governing Body.'

SPECIAL	NO. OF	NOMINATIONS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
SCHOOL	VACANCIES			
		NAME AND ADDRESS		