

SWANSEA BAY CITY REGION JOINT COMMITTEE

31ST AUGUST 2018

APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTED NON VOTING MEMBERS FOR A 5 YEAR TERM

RECOMMENDATIONS / KEY DECISIONS REQUIRED:

1. That the following nominees put forward by the eligible organisations be appointed as co-opted non-voting members on the Swansea Bay City Region Joint Committee for a 5 year period in accordance with the terms detailed within the report:-

Members:

- Swansea University Professor Richard Davies
- University of Wales Trinity St David Dr Jane Davidson
- Hywel Dda University Health Board Bernadine Rees
- Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board- Professor Andrew Davies

Named substitutes:

- Swansea University Dr Fiona Harries
- University of Wales Trinity St David Gwyndaf Tobias
- Hywel Dda University Health Board Steve Moore
- Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board Tracey Myhill
- 2. that the Chair of the Economic Strategy Board be also co-opted onto the Joint Committee as a non-voting member.

REASONS:

The Joint Committee Agreement allows the Joint Committee to co-opt representatives from outside organisations.

Report Author:	Designation:	Tel No. 01267 224010
Linda Rees Jones	Joint Committee Monitoring Officer - Carmarthenshire County Council	E. Mail <u>Lrjones@carmarthenshire.gov.uk</u>
Gaynor Morgan	Democratic Services Manager - Carmarthenshire	01267 224026 GMorgan@sirgar.gov.uk

















EXECUTIVE SUMMARY SWANSEA BAY CITY REGION JOINT COMMITTEE 31ST AUGUST 2018

APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTED NON VOTING MEMBERS FOR A 5 YEAR TERM

Schedule 1 of the Joint Committee Agreement stipulates the "Terms of Reference" of the Joint Committee and its membership.

The agreement allows the Joint Committee to co-opt members to the Committee on terms acceptable to it, as follows:-

- 3.3 The Joint Committee shall be entitled to co-opt on terms acceptable to the Joint Committee one representative of each of the following organisations to the Joint Committee as non-voting members of the Joint Committee for a period of five years from the Commencement Date.
- (a) Swansea University.
- (b) University of Wales Trinity St David.
- (c) Hywel Dda University Health Board.
- (d) Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board.
- 3.4 The Joint Committee may co-opt one representative of Milford Haven Port Authority to the Joint Committee as a non-voting member of the Joint Committee for a period of five years from the Commencement Date.
- 3.5 The Joint Committee may appoint additional persons to the Joint Committee as non-voting members of the Joint Committee for a period of five years from the Commencement Date. The Joint Committee shall not co-opt an additional person to the Joint Committee unless the Joint Committee has decided that the person has expertise relevant to one or more themes in the Swansea Bay City Deal.
- 3.6 The co-option of any person as a non-voting member shall be subject to that person confirming in writing to the monitoring officer of the Accountable Body that he or she agrees to comply with the Co-opted Member Protocol. No co-option shall take effect until such confirmation has been given. "

The following nominations have been received by the accountable body and considered on an informal basis by the Shadow Joint Committee-

Main members:

















- Swansea University Professor Richard Davies
- University of Wales Trinity St David Dr Jane Davidson
- Hywel Dda University Health Board Bernadine Rees
- Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board- Professor Andrew Davies

Named substitutes:

- Swansea University Dr Fiona Harries
- University of Wales Trinity St David Gwyndaf Tobias
- Hywel Dda University Health Board Steve Moore
- Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board Tracey Myhill

Milford Haven Port Authority have not at this time, exercised their right for co-option on the Joint Committee.

The Shadow Joint Committee has also recommended that the Chair of the Economic Strategy Board will be co-opted onto the Joint Committee.

The nominated co-optees have confirmed in writing to the Monitoring Officer that they will comply with the Co-opted Member protocol attached as appendix 1 to the report and it is therefore recommended that the nominees be formally appointed to sit on the Joint Committee and sign in the presence of the monitoring officer the co-opted member protocol

DETAILED REPORT ATTACHED?

Appendix 1 – Schedule 13 Rules of Conduct of Co-opted Members of the Joint Committee and the Economic Strategy Board

















IMPLICATIONS

Policy, Crime & Disorder and	Legal	Finance	Risk Management Issues	Staffing Implications
Equalities NONE	YES	NONE	NONE	NONE

LEGAL

Co-opted non-voting members can be appointed by the Joint Committee on 5 year term.

CONSULTATIONS

Details of any consultations undertaken are to be included here

Nominations have been received in accordance with the recruitment and nomination process.

Section 100D Local Government Act, 1972 – Access to Information List of Background Papers used in the preparation of this report: THESE ARE DETAILED BELOW				
Title of Document	File Ref No.	Locations that the papers are available for public inspection/WEBSITE LINK		
Swansea Bay City Region Joint Committee Agreement		http://www.swanseabaycitydeal.wales/		















