APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

List for Consideration

23rd Nov 2015

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Blaenau	1 (from 1 st Jan 16)	NAME AND ADDRESS Cllr. Sian Thomas, Brynteg, Heol Maes-y-Bont, Castell-y-Rhingyll, Llanelli, SA14 7NA	N/a - Cllr. Sian Thomas is the elected member for the ward in which the school is situated.	Cllr. Sian Thomas has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Blaenau School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Brynaman	2 (from 1 st Feb 16)	Cllr. Glynog Davies, Gwynfryn, 47 Hall Street, Brynaman, Rhydaman, SA18 1SG	N/a - Cllr. Glynog Davies is the elected member for the ward in which the school is situated.	Cllr. Glynog Davies has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Brynamman School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
		Mr A Pedrick, Brynaman, Ammanford	Cllr. Glynog Davies, Chair of Governors	'I am pleased to nominate Mr Pedrick for another term of service. He is very loyal to our meetings and currently holds the post of vice-chair of the body.' Cllr. Glynog Davies is seeking Mr Pedrick's reappointment.
Brynsaron	1	Mr EDG Lloyd,	Mrs Megan Jones /	'Mr Lloyd has been a loyal member of the Governing

		Saron, Llandysul	Mrs Elen Evans, Acting headteachers	Body of Ysgol Brynsaron for more than 15 years. During this time, his support and experience have been invaluable to the school. As a school, we feel that we would benefit from his sensible contribution on the Governing Body.' Mrs Megan Jones / Mrs Elen Evans are seeking Mr Lloyd's re-appointment.
Brynsierfel	1 (from 5 th Dec 15)	Mr KD Rees, Gelli Road, Bryn, Llanelli	Mrs Susan Bowen, Headteacher	'Mr Rees has supported the school as an active and loyal governor for many years. He has knowledge of and interest in the community of which the school is a part.' Mrs Bowen is seeking Mr Rees' re-appointment.
Bynea	1	Mrs C Richards, Bynea, Llanelli	Mrs Tania Morgan, Headteacher	'Mrs Richards has served as a parent governor at Bynea School for many years and is a regular visitor to the school. She is knowledgeable of and interested in the community, with a willingness to help the school develop.'
	1 (from 2 nd Jan 16)	Miss M Williams, Bynea, Llanelli	Mrs Tania Morgan, Headteacher	'Miss Williams is a current LA Governor at Bynea School and is committed to her role. She supports the school in many ways and is a regular visitor. She would be an asset to our school if she could continue in her role as governor.'
	1 (from 1 st Feb 16)	Rev I Lewis, Y Manse	Mrs Tania Morgan, Headteacher	'Rev. Lewis is a key part of our community and plays an active role as school governor. He is a current LA Governor who feels passionate about Bynea School. He is willing to continue in his role and is committed.' Mrs Morgan is seeking Miss Williams' and Rev. Lewis' re-appointments.
Cefneithin	1	Mr J Mathews,	Mr Simon Martin,	'Mr Mathews has expressed an interest in becoming a

		Cefneithin, Llanelli	Chair of Governors	governor at the school, as he is interested in the children's education and the provision at Cefneithin school in particular.'
Llanddarog	1 (from 2 nd Jan 16)	Prof. T Hallam, Foelgastell, Llanelli	Mr Terry Jones, Chair of Governors	'Prof. Hallam has already been a governor at this school. He is nominated for a second term which is testimony of our appreciation of his contribution. He is a parent at our school and he has expertise in education. Naturally, his previous experience on our Governing Body will be beneficial.'
Llandybie	1 (from 1 st Feb 16)	Cllr. WR Anthony Davies, 116 Ammanford Road, Llandybie, Ammanford, SA18 2JY	N/a - Cllr. Anthony Davies is one of the elected members for Llandybie ward.	Cllr. Anthony Davies has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Llandybie School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Llanedi	1	Mrs S Jenkins, Llanedi, Pontarddulais	Mrs Eirwen Thomas, Chair of Governors	'Mrs Jenkins is at present Deputy Headteacher at Birchgrove Comprehensive School and will bring a wealth of knowledge in the field of education. She is very familiar with all the elements that a Governing Body has within its remit. At Birchgrove School, Mrs Jenkins is responsible for KS2/KS3 transition, including cluster schools moderation and literacy tracking and progression. Mrs Jenkins was a parent governor at Llanedi School when both her children were pupils there many years ago. As she is soon to retire, she has expressed a wish to rejoin as a governor which will enable her to share her experiences and expertise for the benefit of the present pupils and be instrumental in moving the school forward.

				Mrs Jenkins is always very supportive of school functions. She is also a regular worshipper at St. Edith's Church Llanedi, where she is a reader and key organiser and worker at all church social events. I am confident that Mrs Jenkins will be an asset to my Governing Body, I look forward to having the pleasure of working with her and I commend her as a governor to represent the Local Authority wholeheartedly.'
Llanllwni	1 (from 2 nd Jan 16)	Mrs E Owen, Llanllwni, Llanybydder	Mr Gareth R. Jones, Headteacher	'I would like to re-nominate Mrs Owen for the position of LA Governor for Ysgol Llanllwni because of her commitment to the education and desire to help improve the standards at Llanllwni school.'
Llanwrda	1 (from 2 nd April 2016)	Cllr. Tom Theophilus, Ty Cornel, Cilycwm, Llandovery, SA20 0ST	Mr Aled Davies, Chair of Governors	'Cllr Theophilus has been an LA Governor of the school for many years and is also involved in the local community. He is committed to the education of the school.' Mr Davies is seeking Cllr. Theophilus' re-appointment. Cllr. Theophilus is the elected member for Cilycwm ward, in which the school is situated.
Nantgaredig	1	Cllr. Mansel Charles, Sarn Gelli, Llanegwad, Nantgaredig, Caerfyrddin, SA32 7NL	N/a - Cllr. Mansel Charles is the elected member for Llanegwad ward, in which the school is situated.	Cllr. Mansel Charles has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Nantgaredig School. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
	1 (from 2 nd Jan 16)	Mr HT Rees, Nantgaredig	Mr Lloyd Thomas, Chair of Governors	'Mr Rees' experience and commitment to the school over the years has been extremely valuable.'

				Mr Thomas is seeking Mr Rees' re-appointment.
SECONDARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Emlyn	1 (from 1 st Feb 16)	Cllr. Hazel Evans, Glynderw, Heol Ebenezer, Castell Newydd Emlyn, SA38 9BS	N/a - Cllr. Hazel Evans is the elected member for Cenarth ward, in which the school is situated.	Cllr. Hazel Evans has expressed an interest in continuing as LA Governor on the Governing Body of Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn. CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.
SPECIAL SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
None.				