## **APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS**

## List for Consideration 23rd January 2020

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS	
	Please note: CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on whi school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.				
Bancyfelin	1	Mrs R Bowen	Mrs Trefina Jones, Headteacher	<ul> <li>'Mrs Bowen is a retired primary school teacher and she would be an asset to have when undertaking the role of primary school governor. She has a keen interest in the school and its community involvement and would support all aspects of its development.</li> <li>Mrs Bowen also has an interest in ALN and MAT pupils and would support this aspect of teaching and learning, being able to oversee confidently the ALNCO in her role within the school.'</li> <li>Mrs Jones is seeking Mrs Bowen's re-appointment.</li> </ul>	
Brynsierfel	1	Mr K Rees	Mrs J Davies, Headteacher	'Mr. Rees was an LEA Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding and Health and Safety until recently. He is keen to remain as an LEA Governor. He has been a loyal friend to the school for many years, attends Governor training when required, volunteers at PTFA events and has supported me at meetings in our vision to raise standards and move the school forward. Having served as a local councillor in the Llwynhendy and Pemberton ward, Mr. Rees has an interest and in- depth knowledge of the community in which the school is located.'	

Bynea	1	Mrs C Richards	Mrs T Morgan, Headteacher	<ul> <li>'Mrs Richards has served as an LA Governor at Ysgol y Bynea for the past four years and was a parent governor for many years prior to this. Mrs Richards is a regular visitor to the school, knowledgeable of and interested in the community. She has the willingness to help the school develop and grow.'</li> <li>Mrs Morgan is seeking Mrs Richards' re-appointment.</li> </ul>
Five Roads	1	Cllr. Jim Jones, Tir Gof, Heol Hen, Five Roads	Mrs E Rumble, Headteacher	<ul> <li>'Cllr. Jones has been an effective LA Governor at Five Roads Primary School for many years. He is a respected member of the Governing Body and has served as Chairperson for most of his tenure. He has always acted as a very professional, knowledgeable and supportive governor who is dedicated to raising standards of education at the school.'</li> <li>Mrs Rumble is seeking Cllr. Jones' re-appointment.</li> </ul>
Gorslas		Mr T Davies	Mrs B Owen, Headteacher	<ul> <li>'Mr Davies has been on Gorslas GB for over 13 years. During this time, he has been an excellent Chairperson, knowing the strengths and areas to be developed within the school. He is supportive and hard-working, always doing his best for the school. He has many years of experience that he can pass on to new governors, and he is always held with high respect from staff and parents.'</li> <li>Mrs Owen is seeking Mr Davies' re-appointment.</li> </ul>
Griffith Jones	1	Cllr. Philip Hughes The Old Board School High Street St Clears SA33 4DY	n/a – elected member Mr E Davies, Headteacher	Cllr. Hughes is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Ysgol Griffith Jones.
Gwenllian	1 (from 18 <sup>th</sup> March 2020)	Mr M. R. Jones	Mrs C Evans, Chairperson	'Mr Jones is an enthusiastic and active member of the Governing Body. He attends meetings regularly and is prepared to voice his opinion for the benefit of the school, its pupils and the local community. He has

				received ample amounts of training and his commitment to education and improving standards is clear. He is a valuable member of several sub- committees and is responsible for monitoring literacy on behalf of the governing body. He is an experienced and supportive governor and I would like to see him continue in the post.'
Hendy	1	Cllr Gareth Thomas, Goitre Fach Hendy Pontarddulais Swansea SA4 0YA	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Thomas is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Hendy School.
Llandybie	1 (from 1 <sup>st</sup> Feb 2020)	Cllr Anthony Davies, 116 Ammanford Road Llandybie Carmarthenshire SA18 2JY	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Davies is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Llandybie School. He has recently been appointed as Vice-Chair.
Nantgaredig	2	Cllr Mansel Charles, Sarn Gelli Llanegwad Nantgaredig Caerfyrddin SA32 7NL	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Charles is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Nantgaredig School.
		Mr Hywel Rees	Mr S Griffiths, Headteacher	'Mr Rees has been a prominent and active governor at Nantgaredig School for over thirty years. His support for the school is priceless. I therefore nominate him to continue with us as a governor into the future.' Mr Griffiths is seeking Mr Rees' re-appointment.
Meidrim	1 (from 21 <sup>st</sup> Jan	Cllr Jean Lewis, Neuadd	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Lewis is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Meidrim School.

	2020)	Meidrim Carmarthenshire SA33 5PW		
Myrddin	2	Mrs J Evans	Mr J Parker, Headteacher	'Mrs Evans is responsible for the Regional Learning and Skills Partnership for West and Mid Wales, which make her an ideal candidate for a Governor.'

SECONDARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Coedcae	1	NAME AND ADDRESS Cllr. Jeff Edmunds Mascolee 13A Capel Terrace	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Edmunds is seeking appointment as LA Governor at Coedcae School.
		Llanelli SA15 1QA		
Emlyn	1 current and 1 from 1 <sup>st</sup> Feb (Cllr. Evans)	Cllr. Hazel Evans Glynderw Heol Ebenezer Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9BS	n/a – elected member Mrs M Webley, Chairperson	Cllr. Evans is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn from 1 <sup>st</sup> February 2020, supported by Mrs Webley.
SPECIAL SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Rhydygors	2	Mrs Ionwen Spowage	Mrs Spowage has shown an interest in the vacancy by submitting an application to the school.	Mrs Spowage is the Headteacher at Ysgol Bro Dinefwr and has previously completed a Post Graduate Qualification in SEN management.